College Student, Hopeful Writer – a Little Bit About Me

I’ve been writing ever since I can remember. I wrote (and illustrated) my first book series in early elementary school. I remember sitting at my little desk with stapled printer paper and a pen in front of me.

I spent all of my free time pouring into these books. I gave them everything my first grade self knew to do –  they are the definition of plagerism, and I stole the structure from American Girl’s historical fiction series. But I was 7, and a writer.

My mom, being the wonderful home school mother that she is, let me loose on this project, and within a week I had all 7 books completed. Never before had I been so proud of something. This is the moment I realized my love of words and all the power and beauty they hold.

In my middle school years I wrote two novels – one blatantly ripping off Disney’s Mulan (13-year-old me didn’t care about copyright laws) and another set on the Titanic as a response to my hatred of the James Cameron film (but that’s rant another day). It wasn’t until I came to college that I started to take writing seriously, and I hope to make a career out of the written word.

I hope to eventually create a career out of words, I know that I need to improve and continue to train in order to become better at my craft.

That is exactly what I plan for this blog to become: a way for me to keep myself accountable to my projects, and share some of them with you, along with updates on my personal adventures. I hope you enjoy. 🙂

~Kaylee

One thought on “College Student, Hopeful Writer – a Little Bit About Me

  1. Hannah January 18, 2015 / 3:27 am

    So cool! I ripped off American Girl as a young writer myself… Those books were endless sources of inspiration :o)

    Like

Leave a comment